John Casteen is the author of “For the Mountain Laurel” (2011) and “Free Union” (2009), part of the VQR Poetry Series from The University of Georgia Press. His poems have appeared in The Paris Review, Ploughshares and The Best American Poetry. He has contributed prose on gun policy, professional ethics and environmental policy to Slate.com, The Washington Post, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Chronicle of Higher Education and other magazines and newspapers. A graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, he was self-employed for 10 years as a designer and builder of custom furniture. Casteen teaches at Sweet Briar College, where he founded and directs the Sweet Briar Undergraduate Creative Writing Conference. He has also taught on Semester at Sea, at the University of Virginia and as visiting artist faculty-in-residence at New York University. He lives in Earlysville, Va. 

Dave Lucas is the author of “Weather” (Georgia, 2011), which received the 2012 Ohioana Book Award for Poetry. He has also been awarded a Henry Hoyns Fellowship from the University of Virginia and a “Discovery”/The Nation Prize. In 2012, Rita Dove selected him to be featured on BillMoyers.com as a “young poet to watch.” He teaches at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, where he was born and raised.






Sarah Crossland received a B.A. in storytelling from the University of Virginia and an M.F.A. in poetry from the University of Wisconsin at Madison. The recipient of the 2012 Boston Review Poetry Prize, a 2013 AWP Intro Journals Award and the 2013 Pablo Neruda Prize, she was recently named one of Narrative's “30 Below 30” Emerging Poets for 2014. Her manuscript “Tomorrowland” is currently under consideration at first-book contests, and her work has appeared, or is forthcoming, in Crazyhorse, Shenandoah, FIELD, TriQuarterly, The Iowa Review, A Public Space, Denver Quarterly and others. She is currently researching for a book of poems about the Romanov daughters, Slavic folklore and the Russian Revolution.


Michael Croley
was born in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains in Corbin, Ky. A graduate of the creative writing programs at Florida State and the University of Memphis, his work has won awards from the Kentucky Arts Council, the Key West Literary Seminars and the Sewanee Writers’ Conference. His stories have regularly appeared in Narrative, which named him to its list of “Best New Writers” in 2011. His other fiction and criticism has been published in The Paris Review Daily, Blackbird, The Louisville Review, The Southern Review, Fourth Genre and the Cleveland Plain-Dealer. He lives in Granville, Ohio, and teaches creative writing at Denison University.

Nell Boeschenstein
is a visiting assistant professor of creative writing at Sweet Briar College, where she teaches creative nonfiction. Before coming to Sweet Briar, she served as the associate producer of online media for the NPR radio program “Fresh Air.” Her essays have appeared in The Rumpus, This Recording, The Millions and The Morning News, where she is a contributing writer. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Dartmouth College and an M.F.A. from Columbia University.



Anna Kovatcheva
was born in Sofia, Bulgaria, and holds an M.F.A. in fiction writing from New York University. Her novelette, “The White Swallow,” was selected by Aimee Bender as the winner of the 2014 Gold Line Press Fiction Chapbook Competition, and will be published later this year. Her stories have appeared in The Kenyon Review and are forthcoming in The Iowa Review and Kenyon Review Online. She lives in Charlottesville, Va., where she works as a graphic designer by day and writes stories of Bulgaria by night.



eff Martin’s stories have appeared in Mississippi Review, Sou’wester, storySouth, and The Greensboro Review, among others, and he has work forthcoming in The Florida Review and Drunken Boat. He earned his M.F.A. from the University of North Carolina-Greensboro and splits his time between Charlottesville, where he is associate director of the University of Virginia’s Young Writers Workshop, and Sweet Briar, where he is the Young Writers Fellow.