Engineering Advisory Board

The Sweet Briar College Engineering Advisory Board includes distinguished leaders from industry and academia. The board provides the program with planning support related to partnerships with industry, student internships, employment, recruiting, curriculum and fundraising.   

Updated January 2016

Current advisory board members include:

Sara Abbe
The Babcock & Wilcox Company
Engineering Unit Manager
Lynchburg, VA.

Bobbi Ann M. Carroll
Senior Director Automotive Partnerships
Detroit, MI

Thom Keehan
Vice President
Milwakuee, WI

Sarah Lightbody ’12
Business Analytics and Strategy Consultant
Washington, DC

Megan Lucas
CEO and Chief Economic Development Officer
Lynchburg Regional Business Alliance
Lynchburg, VA

Leo Obrst, Ph.D.
Principal Scientist, AI
Washington, DC

Finis Southworth, Ph.D.
Retired CTO
Amherst, VA

Tom Spangenberg
Business Unit Director
BW Container Systems
Lynchburg, VA

Ric Woerner
The Clorox Company
Glad Manufacturing
Amherst, VA

Michael Staton
Senior-Prinicpal Engineering/QA Manager
Lynchburg, VA

David Wood, Ph.D.
Director of Technology at Ephox + TinyMCE
Brisbane, Australia

Christina (Johnson) Pappas ’08
University of Virginia
Graduate student in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
First student to earn an engineering science degree from SBC
Charlottesville, VA

Joanne B. Dugan, Ph.D.
University of Virginia
Electrical & Computer Engineering Department
Charlottesville, VA

Mary Kasarda, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Virginia Tech
Mechanical Engineering Department
Blacksburg, VA

Bob Bailey
Executive Director
Center for Advanced Engineering and Research (CAER)
Lynchburg, VA

Ron Kander
Executive Dean, College of Design, Engineering, and Commerce
Philadelphia University
Philadelphia, PA

Suzan M. Jagger
Suzan Jagger, LLC, President
Litchfield, CT