Class of 2008 Senior Awards Announced

| May 9, 2008
Each year, Sweet Briar College presents a number of awards to seniors to honor their academic excellence in specific disciplinary areas across the liberal arts and sciences and their exemplary contributions to the welfare of the College community.

The following awards were presented May 9 to graduating members of the Class of 2008:

    • The Alpha Lambda Delta Award: Mary Spears Dance.
    • American Association of University Women: Theron Diana McLeod.
    • The Anthropology and Archaeology Department Book Prize: Kelsey Marie Dellaporte.
    • The Maria Capron Award for Excellence in French: Nicole Marie Levesque.
    • The Crysler Award: Caroline Elizabeth Byrd.
    • The Juliet Halliburton Davis Environmental Science Award: Erica Brett Franklin.
    • The Juliet Halliburton Davis Environmental Studies Award: Megan Cathreen Maloney.
    • The Delta Gamma Society International Outstanding Scholar Education Award: Shanna Patricia Ryan.
    • The German Embassy Book Prize: Julie Elizabeth Midgley.
    • The Goethe-Institut Buchpreis: Tiffany Nicole Meadows.
    • The Kathryn Haw Prize in Art History: Celeste Caroline Lucie Wackenhut.
    • The James Lewis Howe Award in Chemistry: Ashley Jill Figueiredo.
    • L’Alliance Francaise de Lynchburg: Elizabeth Joan Killiam and Lisa Michelle Ruffle.
    • The George H. Lenz Excellence in Physics Award: Christina Ann Johnson.
    • The Mathematical Sciences Award: Rachel E. Gotwalt and Kathryn Elisabeth Whittemore.
    • The Jessica Steinbrenner Molloy Award in Theater Arts: Jacquline Renee Tusing.
    • The Helen K. Mull Graduate Fellowship in Psychology: Alexandra Gold DiFeliceantonio, Alison Elizabeth Carr and Adyln Marie Perez-Figueroa.
    • The Lawrence G. Nelson Award for Excellence in English: Leslie Marie Lewis andBarbara J. Payne.
    • The Pauline Roberts Otis Award in French: Elizabeth Joan Killiam.
    • The W. Edward Overly Award in Spanish: Alexandra Gold DiFeliceantonio.
    • The Presidential Medalists: Mary Spears Dance and Natalie Ann Batman.
    • The Lucile Barrow Turner Award: Erin Lynn Rogers.
    • The Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award: Allison Michelle Hancock.

Category: Academics