German Honors Society welcomes new members

| May 6, 2014

On Monday, May 5, Sweet Briar College’s Lambda Eta Chapter of the Delta Phi Alpha German Honor Society initiated two new members.

SBC’s Delta Phi Alpha members in front of the newly painted Hitching Post. From left: Sixtine Abrial ’15, Alyssa Sarmiento ’15, Kathleen McGregor ’15, Lilian Tauber ’14, Prof. Horwege, Emily Rogers ’16, Laura Kalsow ’17 and Emma Cuneo ’14. Not pictured: Olivia Fagan ’15.

The society welcomed first-year Laura Kalsow and sophomore Emily Rogers. Professor of German Ronald Horwege conducted the ceremony, which was also attended by current members Lilian Tauber ’14, Sixtine Abrial ’15, Alyssa Sarmiento ’15, Kathleen McGregor ’14 and Emma Cuneo ’14, as well as members of the modern languages and literatures department.

Delta Phi Alpha was founded at Wofford College in 1927 and now has 275 chapters throughout the United States. Sweet Briar College received its charter in 2001. Professor Horwege served as the national president of the society from 2009 to 2013.

The purpose of the society is stated in its charter: The National German Honor Society, Delta Phi Alpha, seeks to recognize excellence in the study of German and to provide an incentive for higher scholarship. The Society aims to promote the study of the German language, literature and civilization and endeavors to emphasize those aspects of German life and culture which are of universal value and which contribute to man’s eternal search for peace and truth.”


Category: German