2013-2014 IHSA riders named

| September 26, 2013

Coach Lizzie Fisch has announced selections for Sweet Briar’s 2013-2014 Intercollegiate Horse Show Association team.

Fisch says 49 students tried out over two days for 20 spots. Tryouts are conducted like regular IHSA competitions, in which students are assigned a horse and asked to show without any warm-up time. The system is a test of how well a rider can read her horse and follow with a good performance. The format removes the advantage gained by horses and riders who have practiced together previously.

Students show in classes based on riding experience and ability, which allows beginners as well advanced riders the opportunity to compete. Classes range from beginner walk, trot to open over fences for those who are qualified for jumping.

After initial trials, riders in contention are called back to try out again on a different horse until the judging panel has made its final selections.

Congratulations to the following riders for making this year’s Sweet Briar IHSA team:

Mary Katherine Bailey ’16
Hannah Bowers ’15
Madison Cromwell ’16
Natasha Cross ’16
Kathleen Drake ’14
Ashley Fletcher ’17
Allyson Fredrick ’17
Sarah Hibler ’14
Olivia Hurt ’14
Laura Kalsow ’17
Adeline Krieger ’16
Maddy Lee ’17
Laura Leitch ’14
Lexi Markmann ’17
Haley Reeves ’16
Kathryne Richard ’15
Olivia Smith ’14
Amanda Wager ’14
McKenna Wilder ’16
Eryn Wiley ’14

Category: Riding