2011-2012 IHSA Team Members Announced

| October 5, 2011

Riders wait their turns for IHSA team tryouts at Rogers Riding Center.

Coach Ian McCartney has announced selections for Sweet Briar’s 2011-2012 Intercollegiate Horse Show Association team.

Tryouts for the team are conducted like regular IHSA competitions, in which students are assigned a horse and asked to show without any warm-up time. The system is a test of how well a rider can read her horse and follow with a good performance. The format removes the advantage gained by horses and riders who have practiced together previously.

Students show in classes based on riding experience and ability, which allows beginners as well advanced riders the opportunity to compete. Classes range from beginner walk, trot to open over fences for those who are qualified for jumping.

After initial trials, riders in contention are called back to try out again on a different horse until the judging panel has made its final selections.

Congratulations to the following riders for making this year’s Sweet Briar IHSA team:

Katie Drake ’14
Karista Giordano ’15
Kathryne Richard ’15
Eryn Wiley ’13
Sarah Hibler ’14
Brianna Belter ’13
Ali Davidson ’13
Olivia Smith ’14
Zoe West ’13
Hannah Bowers ’15
Caitlynn Bragg ’14
Bethany Dearden ’14
McKenzie Grundy ’13
Kendall Harris ’13
Alison Hornbaker ’15
Townsend Horvath ’12
Laura Leitch ’14
Lauren Morgan ’13
Kaitlin Schaal ’15
Laura Jane Wolcott ’12
Clarkie Woods ’12

For more behind-the-scene photos taken during the team tryouts, click here.

See how the team did in the first show of the season here.

Category: Riding, Uncategorized