Delta Phi Alpha Initiates Eight Members

| May 3, 2012

On Monday, April 30, Sweet Briar College’s Lambda Eta Chapter of the Delta Phi Alpha German Honor Society initiated eight new members. The ceremony took place in the Cochran Library Browsing Room.

The society welcomed Katherine Allison ’14, Sixtine Abrial ’15, Kathleen McGregor ’14, Alyssa Sarmiento ’15, Lilian Tauber ’14, Megan Kelly ’15, Emma Cuneo Merritt  ’14 and Jillian McDaniel ’12. Professor of German Ronald Horwege, chapter advisor, conducted the ceremony, assisted by Delta Phi Alpha members Alexandra Mebane ’12, Rachel Akers ’12 and Hannah Robinson ’13.

Delta Phi Alpha was founded at Wofford College in 1927 and now has over 236 chapters throughout the United States. Sweet Briar College received its charter in 2001. Professor Horwege is presently serving as national president of the society.

The purpose of the society is stated in its charter: The National German Honor Society, Delta Phi Alpha, seeks to recognize excellence in the study of German and to provide an incentive for higher scholarship. The Society aims to promote the study of the German language, literature and civilization and endeavors to emphasize those aspects of German life and culture which are of universal value and which contribute to man’s eternal search for peace and truth.”

Since Sweet Briar College’s founding, German has been an integral part of the academic program.

“Delta Phi Alpha supports the dedication the College has had to international education and fostering international understanding,” Horwege said.

Sadly, this will be one of the last inductions of Sweet Briar students into the society, as the College has decided to discontinue the German major after 2014.

Category: Modern Languages and Literatures, Uncategorized