Sweet Briar announces 2012 Senior Awards

| May 11, 2012

Each year, Sweet Briar College presents a number of awards to seniors to honor their academic excellence in specific disciplinary areas across the liberal arts and sciences and their exemplary contributions to the welfare of the College community.

The following awards were presented at Baccalaureate on Friday, May 11, to graduating members of the Class of 2012:

  • The Alpha Lambda Delta Award: Maria Jamal El-Abd
  • The American Association of University Women: Barbara Lynn Regester
  • The Anthropology and Archaeology Department Book Prize: Kathryn Elizabeth Bryant
  • The Jean Besselievre Boley Award: Elizabeth Ann Foster
  • The Marcia Capron Award for Excellence in French: Jacqueline Yvonne Dodwell and Jordan Paige Tudisco-Guntert
  • The Crysler Award: Charlotte Lydia Greenwood
  • The Juliet Halliburton Davis Environmental Science Award: Virginia Marie Butner and Caroline Alice Eleanor Sorensen
  • The Delta Kappa Gamma Society International Outstanding Scholar Education Award: Anna Lisbeth Newberg
  • The Economics Department Outstanding Senior Award: Emily Katherin Koch
  • The English Essay Awards: Corinne Elizabeth Adams, Maria Jamal El-Abd and Stephanie Corinne Prato
  • The Excellence in Engineering Award: Caroline Alice Eleanor Sorensen
  • The German Embassy Book Prize: Rachel Danielle Akers
  • The Goethe-Institut Buchpreis: Alexandra Stark Mebane
  • The Nicole Greenleaf Service in Education Award: Madalyn DeLaurrie Mawyer
  • The Kathryn Haw Prize in Art History: Victoria Carol Bradley and Marguerite Mary Marks
  • The James Lewis Howe Award in Chemistry: Ashley Brielle Carpenter
  • L’Alliance Francaise de Lynchburg: Brittaney Lynn Michielsens
  • The Mathematical Sciences Award: Maria Jamal El-Abd and Mary Kathryn Rora
  • The Jean Taylor Meyer Memorial Poetry Prize: Maria Jamal El-Abd
  • The Jessica Steinbrenner Molloy Award in Theater Arts: Sierra Trisonjua Wright
  • The Lawrence G. Nelson Award for Excellence in English: Stephanie Corinne Prato
  • The Pauline Roberts Otis Award in French: Jordan Paige Tudisco-Guntert
  • The W. Edward Overly Award in Spanish: Victoria Carol Bradley and Alanna Moira Keane
  • The Presidential Medalist: Alexandra Merrill St. Pierre
  • The Shakespeare Prize: Greer Westcott Gordon
  • The Sprague-Belcher Award in Biology: Maryanne Faith Grey and Kellner Leigh Pruett
  • The Anne Gary Pannell Taylor Graduate Fellowship in History: Jane Anne O’Neill Edwards
  • The Tye River Elementary “Big Sister” Award: Sarah Elizabeth Brazell
  • The Whiteman Scholar-Athlete Award: Alexandra Merrill St. Pierre
  •  The Leigh Woolverton Prize for Excellence in the Visual Arts: Ellen Garrison Reid

Category: Uncategorized